I wanna hold your hand!

role reversal is a blessing and a bitch..
I get to hold my dad’s hand every day as I ease him through the day…
I remember the safety I felt as he held my hand growing up…
he held my hand my first day of school, he held my hand when I fell off my bike the first time…
he held my hand as we talked about life…
he held my hand when I found out I had cancer…..and when I kicked cancer…
dad’s hands told me it was o.k. To fly when I was scared….
I simply knew and know it will be o.k. When I hold his hand…
I am grateful I can hold his hand as he now needs my safety, however, how lucky am I to be able to hold dad’s hands for 97 years..
dad, thank you for your safety and love
I’m scared but it will be o.k.

IMG_0335.JPG

About sweetmelissa1954

Love family, life, Starbucks and change! Transition is the new norm....learning to go with the flow and embrace each day...I love politics, news and Bruce Springsteen! I write about life, Hawaii, coffee, sibling rivalry, politics, friends, care giving and just another day!
This entry was posted in addiction, television, new yory post, Aging, aspen54, caregiver, CNN, family, health, Just Another Day, music and life, thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

