Obama – Care and Me

I don’t really know where to begin…..happiness is really in the eye of the beholder. I was so pleased to receive my good news from the doctor; my mammsbography ended up being negative….another year of relief. How did our mom’s go through this anxiety in the 50’s? I went to my doctor to discuss the results….yes, he is a man….sort of tells the story.

Obama-care is trying, however, while it might give us health care, it doesn’t appear it is giving us better doctors. My doctor is devoid of emotion….attempted to ease my curiosity and questions with one word answers and just told me to be happy with the results. I stared him down with my frustration and complete bitterness at his lack of care.

I’m convinced unless you are working for the government, on Wall Street or in The White House….health care is being tossed out the back door. I’ve been through a great deal in 20 years….including 12 years of being cancer free. I was lucky enough to be treated at Yale….my doctor’s did listen, they cared and put up with my anxiety. At the time my insurance plan was in tact.

The reality of life has transitioned my insurance plan — I now have the basics…welcome to the real world….I guess the doctors 30 or 40 years out of medical school are looking at us as second class citizens.

I look at every day as a second chance… a new opportunity to live my life and pay it forward. While I’m never going to be 30 again…..I can be happy I’m cancer free….relatively healthy and just seeking a doctor who is interested in me.

Living in the United States you would think it would be so much easier — it isn’t. It is shameful we all don’t have access to the best medicine in the world — where is Robin Hood when you need him?

We have to stand up for ourselves with doctors and our medicine….ask questions….demand answers…I had to wait a week for the results of my mammogram. When I asked for the results sooner, I thought the doctors would take of their white coats in revolt. It was almost comical.

As I found myself apologizing for asking – I stopped, smiled and said “I want the results asap”…
Finding happiness with results is my new goal in life….

In my past life I worked in D.C. when the art of negotiation was still alive….why am I negotiating for my medical rights? O.K., time to be happy….going to Starbucks’s….

About sweetmelissa1954

Love family, life, Starbucks and change! Transition is the new norm....learning to go with the flow and embrace each day...I love politics, news and Bruce Springsteen! I write about life, Hawaii, coffee, sibling rivalry, politics, friends, care giving and just another day!
This entry was posted in addiction, television, new yory post, Aging, aspen54, botox, Bruce, doctor, employment, family, grieving, insurance, music and life, obama, Obama-care, sweetmelissa1954 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

