Mr. Mandela

I knew the passing of Nelson Mandela was imminent, however, i didnt realize the impact it would have on me…..I am in awe of his grace, dignity, power and life….

I was living in D.C. When he was released…..i remember racing home to watch the infamous “walk” on television…i had been in the news business for a few years and was taken with the news impact of Mr. Mandela’s release instead of the meaning of his release.

As life has evolved I understand the power of his dominance. A gentleman with so much influence around the world and to people he never knew. I am one of those people. Mr. Mandela preached the power of forgiveness in life….it is a trait that enables all of us to move forward.

As I struggle with my own life trying to make sense of my parents later years and siblings who don’t conform….Mr. Mandela has given me the inspiration to hope and to try and forgive…even if it is just in my own little circle. He has given me a better understanding of life and spirituality. He has opened the door for me…..his gentle smile was the smile of a big man who understood the art of diplomacy….

His smile is hope….i hope to forgive very soon.🌸

About sweetmelissa1954

Love family, life, Starbucks and change! Transition is the new norm....learning to go with the flow and embrace each day...I love politics, news and Bruce Springsteen! I write about life, Hawaii, coffee, sibling rivalry, politics, friends, care giving and just another day!
This entry was posted in aspen54, Bruce, CNN, coffee, doctor, employment, grieving, Journalism, library, Memorial Day, Morning Joe, MSNBC, networking, news, obama, Politics, social media, social networking, sports, sweetmelissa1954, syria, troops and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

