I just never knew….

I just never knew….I never knew….I never knew it would be this hard…..who would have thought. Birth, life and death. I dealt with life, however, death is getting in the way. Dad is 96 and looks 55….he loves politics, quiz shows and chatting about the world situation. I see a man from the past..not a man of the present. I see him taking his “girls”out for dinner….going on vacation and exploring the secrets of the universe. I remember our “talks”about life…..I remember how proud he was of me when I was working in D.C…..those special tours of the power halls of Congress thrilled him.

Dad makes me laugh with his jokes….his outlook on life…..he never talks about his hardships….doesnt complain. He wants to win the lottery so he can give to the poor. Dad always thinks of others….he is my saint.

When I see a phone..i think of him. He is always listening….he taught us to listen…to learn….to be alive and alert for the future. He never looks back….I hope His strength is intact in me. The future scares me….it can’t….i need to live for him.

If only my sibling would realize the beauty of life and his father…..life would be simpler for all.

About sweetmelissa1954

Love family, life, Starbucks and change! Transition is the new norm....learning to go with the flow and embrace each day...I love politics, news and Bruce Springsteen! I write about life, Hawaii, coffee, sibling rivalry, politics, friends, care giving and just another day!
This entry was posted in Aging, aspen54, birthdays, Bruce, CNN, coffee, fame, football, foreign news, music and life, nature, social media, social networking, sweetmelissa1954, Television News, thoughts, womenhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I just never knew….

  1. andy1076 says:

    The relationship between father and son is always contentious at best, but in time he will realize the same as you have, sweet dedication. 🙂

Leave a Reply

