A man and his chair

I was caught off guard….our family chipped in and bought dad a new chair for father’s day…after all, he is 95 and deserves a “new chair.”  We were so proud to present him with his new “chair”….dad…not so much.

I felt as if I were in an episode of “Frasier”….Frasier  bought his dad a new chair for his house as the dad’s chair was not up to snuff for his taste!  Frasier’s dad freaks…couldn’t believe his son would throw out the “chair”….you might say there was a bit of tension in the house until the old chair was returned and man and chair were reunited.

Dad took to idea of his new chair like a baby takes to a change of diaper…yikes!  When we told him the chair would be arriving in 30 minutes there was a feeling the plague was in the air.  He wanted to know what was going to happen to the old chair…were we going to sell it….throw it away….toss it off the deck of the house….leave it in the will?  Should anything happen to mom, would the chair go to my sister in Colorado?  We assured him the “chair” would go to the right person….even though a raccoon would want to sit on the chair!

I’ve got to give it to him…the new chair came after a day of martini’s for the family….we needed to tranquillize the situation.  Dad gave it the military try — sat on the chair — and then the big decision….it was going BACK!  He didn’t like it….the man will continue the romance of his old and, to him, new chair.

We learn in age….the safety of old is security and don’t try to change even though intentions are good.  We just wanted my amazing dad to be happy, comfortable and safe.  I guess if someone were to strip me of my computers I wouldn’t be to happy….so, I can identify. However, I wouldn’t mind a new mini-ipad!

Age is frightening…..I hope I can handle with the same class as my dad.Image   

About sweetmelissa1954

Love family, life, Starbucks and change! Transition is the new norm....learning to go with the flow and embrace each day...I love politics, news and Bruce Springsteen! I write about life, Hawaii, coffee, sibling rivalry, politics, friends, care giving and just another day!
This entry was posted in Aging, aspen54, birthdays, botox, Bruce, CNN, coffee, furniture, health, holiday, honor, insurance, Journalism, magazines, Morning Joe, movies, MSNBC, music and life, nature, social networking, sweetmelissa1954, television, thoughts, womenhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

