Summer Fun

Memorial Day is almost here and it reminds me of the past….the past is happy for me. I’m trying to recreate a happy future. Memorial Day on the Washington Mall…..waiting for the Beach Boys to perform…..silly enough to think I would find my friends by the Washington Monument…..then realizing it wouldn’t happen when 750,000 people showed up.

It didn’t matter….I danced to “California Girls” with 750,000 of my new friends and neighbors. Then there was that Memorial Day at the Country Club…..reacquainting with all of our summer buddies. Sweet times were mom taking us into town for the Memorial Day parades…..way before the infamous Memorial Day sales!

Memorial Day in our history was for the past and honoring our country…..I loved to thank all the men who served our country…they were so kind. Thanks to my dad who is a veteran, however, never talked about it. He has the movie star looks of Robert Redford …..he is always my hero.

Baseball in our backyard was always a tradition….mom in her bathing suit and movie star looks hitting home runs….hamburgers to follow. The night always ended with a bonfire on the beach….love all my memories and all of my inner circle…..they protect me.

My best Memorial Day was at The White House…..how special was that? Who would have thought?

20130523-172403.jpg

20130523-173043.jpg

About sweetmelissa1954

Love family, life, Starbucks and change! Transition is the new norm....learning to go with the flow and embrace each day...I love politics, news and Bruce Springsteen! I write about life, Hawaii, coffee, sibling rivalry, politics, friends, care giving and just another day!
This entry was posted in Aging, Bruce, CNN, coffee, doctor, Dogs, family, magazines, Memorial Day, music and life, Politics, siblings, sisters, social networking, sports, sweetmelissa1954, television, Television News, womenhood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

