Ms. Jolie

I heard the news about Angelina Jolie today…..she has chosen a double mastectomy in an effort to prevent cancer that is a heredity challenge. She wrote in the NYT’s she wanted to make sure her children didn’t lose their mom. Breast Cancer runs in her family. I was never a fan of Angelina Jolie, however, it is fascinating how the word cancer can change one’s perspective on a person.

I have a great deal of respect for Ms. Jolie going public with her decision…..as a cancer survivor I can only say publicizing a health diagnosis is such a personal decision …..I rarely mention the C word. Ms. Jolie will save lives with her decision….a public announcement will give women and men the courage to go for examinations. It doesn’t take away being scared, however, she gave us the right to be brave!

I’m 12 years healthy and the C word is not mentioned by me….more as I don’t want to be labeled with the disease. In my private world I pray all the time for a cure….now at least we have the conversation. If only all monies raised would go to research and not salaries….we would be a better world.

Ms. Jolie has her family for support…not everyone so so lucky. Tomorrow will be lighter….cheers

20130514-142450.jpg

About sweetmelissa1954

Love family, life, Starbucks and change! Transition is the new norm....learning to go with the flow and embrace each day...I love politics, news and Bruce Springsteen! I write about life, Hawaii, coffee, sibling rivalry, politics, friends, care giving and just another day!
This entry was posted in aspen54, Bruce, coffee, Days, Daytime Television, doctor, Dogs, family, food, Fox, grieving, health, insurance, networking, news, siblings, social media, social networking, sweetmelissa1954, thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

