Laughter and Anxiety

20130301-125101.jpg

My heart was broken yesterday…I’m in the tenuous position of being a caretaker…rather ironic as I still think I need care taking. My dad is in his late 90’s and mom in mid 80’s…the siblings are supporting their needs right now whatever that means. I was walking around the house with dad yesterday…he had to exercise! As I’m walking behind him I remember him coming into the house a younger man….running in after a long trip to ask “how his girls are doing”….we would jump on the bed and look for gifts in his pocket….we were so excited. Dad would always save the day!

My conversations with dad were always about politics, religion, family and fun! I miss those conversations…the chatter…the advice. Now dad is tired….the chatting has stopped, however, I’m so lucky to still have him. If we could just go back in time….have that last trip to Aspen and Hawaii together….it would be so cool.

About sweetmelissa1954

Love family, life, Starbucks and change! Transition is the new norm....learning to go with the flow and embrace each day...I love politics, news and Bruce Springsteen! I write about life, Hawaii, coffee, sibling rivalry, politics, friends, care giving and just another day!
This entry was posted in music and life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

